carbon cranks on a track bike?

i just got my hands on a pair of fsa carbon cranks. i like the idea of putting them on my iro, but would the pressures of a fixed gear drive train be too great for them?
they’re got a bolted on spider, which is really my biggest concern.
any experience?

Brakeless would sketch me out.

Personally I have no experience but the Fuji Track Pros have been coming with carbon cranks lately.

They’re fine, unless you want to do chainring grinds and sprocket stalls. Seriously, we’ve been convinced somehow that carbon anything will explode the moment you look at it wrong. Someone says it, then they cite some extreme case and act like a steel [component] would have made everything hunky dory.

Of course, if I were you, I’d sell the carbon cranks, buy something more economical, and spend the profit on other fun stuff.

[quote=“deadforkinglast”]They’re fine, unless you want to do chainring grinds and sprocket stalls. Seriously, we’ve been convinced somehow that carbon anything will be super awesome and is always better for all components. Someone says it, then they cite some extreme case and act like a steel [component] would have made everything hunky dory.
[/quote]

Fixed.

[quote=“deadforkinglast”]They’re fine, unless you want to do chainring grinds and sprocket stalls. Seriously, we’ve been convinced somehow that carbon anything will explode the moment you look at it wrong. Someone says it, then they cite some extreme case and act like a steel [component] would have made everything hunky dory.

Of course, if I were you, I’d sell the carbon cranks, buy something more economical, and spend the profit on other fun stuff.[/quote]
so is there something better (read, lighter and stiffer) i should be looking for?
i really don’t want the answer to be sugino 75s

i guess i could buy shants’ cranks- viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1290