I need some TIPS for SKIDS!

Okay guys, this is going to sound retarded. I’m pretty new to my fixed gear, and I have tried super hard to skid stop, but it’s impossible! I put my whole weight into it and I am doing the pull and push technique… i have no clue! The pedals just keep moving! I tried to pull all my weight to the front, but it doesn’t seem to work…

What can I do to stop?!
:bear:

lean forwards, get your weight off the seat.

I found this was helpful too: http://sheldonbrown.com/fixed.html#skip

COMMIT TO THE SKID!!!
don’t be afraid.
if it feels like the pedals are moving your legs forward, just push back harder.

Try to learn on grass or a sandy parking lot. Somewhere with less resistance till you figure out what it takes to do them. Wet lot maybe.

Hey guys. Thanks! I’ll give it a try again tomorrow. Well nevertheless, I’ll get a front brake on. It’s pretty hard idk. Maybe I’m just not strong enough, or just not committed to it yet. Anymore tips?

nuts on stem. it’s going to hurt.

Skidz will be more apparent with white undies.

i didnt need to put my nuts anywhere near the stem when i learned to skid. find grass or something and just practice, once it comes to you itll be no prob.

i was putting my pubic bone on the stem , but i got bruised pretty fucking bad, so now i just kinda sit on the top tube near the stem. not only does it not hurt, but now i’m skidding better.
it looks like giant lines of orange hi-liter up and down my street.
i’ve really gotta stop this.

Try to support your body solely on your arms when learning… like leaning over a railing… dont use your legs for anything other than locking the crank… as to put all of your weight over the bars. What gearing are you running?

+1

alot of people say they pull up with their other foot, but i don’t do that.
my mind doesn’t compute “lean over bars, put nuts on stem, get legs/cranks in right position, push down with right, pull up with left…etc…”