Nice, light-ish, street/track worthy wheelset sub-$500?

Sick of the Aerospoke and Deep V. :bear:

I’ve been looking around, Mavic Ellipse have always caught my eye but I would rather build a wheelset up and be a bit more unique. I also don’t want black and would rather a silver rim/black hub combo.

I really have no idea whats just as strong (or almost as strong) as the Veloc-DV that weighs less, other than the Ellipse and some combo of Open Pro. The Deep V’ss certainly did better than I thought, I started riding on them when I was around 270lbs (32h to formulas). I’m at 210 now and over the course of a year they’ve outlasted two frames. I’ve had to get the front trued once after a hit and run accident and the rear trued when a BMXer annihilated a rear spoke.

What I would like to have is high flange hubs, 28h (probably radial) bladed in front and 32 in back 2x, rear hub gotta be double fixed. Gotta stand the rain/snow (mess work) and my weight (although that seems to keep going down).

I’m not really sure what would work best for me. Velocity Fusion to Gran Compe, Aerohead to Compe… all I know is that I definitely don’t want a deep rim in the front.

Your suggestions are appreciated/welcomed and if your in NYC, I’ll buy you a beer. Excuse my wheelset newbality.

if gran compe’s are just formulas then i can vouch for the aerohead/gran compe combo. cheap-ish, tough as hell, light, still rollin smooth after um…3 years in Melbourne rain.

http://www.canecreek.com/Volos-Track-Cl ... heels.html http://www.outsideoutfitters.com/p-1127 ... heels.aspx

I’ve got a pair of these, last year’s version anyway. Stiff as hell and they climb like a motherfucker. They’re 24 radial and 28 2x, bladed Sapim CX spokes, and single-sided fixed.

Check out IRD/KinLin/Speedcific rims (same rim different branding).

I got a IRD Cadence Aero (30mm Deep V style rim, 455g) laced to Formula with Sapim Laser DB spokes and it’s been super tough.