Road bike reccomendationsss

So i want a geared road bike. I want it to be complete since I’ve never built a bike up before and don’t think a geared bike should be my start. I’ve looked around some but basically i just want to know what are some decent options. I’m not going to use it for commuting so it doesn’t need to be burly. $1000 tops, cheaper is always better. halp?

I like the looks of this one:

http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/mercier/aerott.htm

Although I’m skeptical of the crankset toss-up.

That’s a good bike no matter what crankset you get. If I was to get a geared bike it would be that one just cause its a good value and I like the looks of it too. Check Craigslist too for killer deals, as soon as the temperature outside gets to dropping people start selling their bikes.

Tarckicardia what is that tokyo drift action in your avatar from?

i can speak very highly of an early 90s trek 1500. except for the fact that it has an “ALUMINUM” graphic on the top tube, that always seemed kind of tacky.

go used. buy something for ~$300 off of craigslist or a local shop and thrash it. spend the good money on the next bike when you figure out what you like/dislike.

I have no clue where it’s from, I’ve had it in my computer for years now and use it as an avatar cause its hilarious.

I think it’s from a movie. Sorry for being so helpful.

There are so many road bikes that recommendations are almost useless. Ride a lot and get what you like the best and can afford.

Used bikes are a great value. Roadies love to “upgrade,” so take advantage of that.

Get a Faggin!

Is that Abe and Mary Todd Lincoln on the wall back there?

Is that a bent to shit Bianchi fork on the front wall there?

Yes it is.

Yes it is.

I bought an older trek 1000 with full ultegra and almost new ultegra/open pro wheels for 700 bucks shipped a bit ago.