Sagan om Ringen; or, The Legend of the 5 Rings

Disclaimer: this doesn’t lead anywhere very exciting, it’s just a tale.

As you all know, almost a month ago I took of on my journey from my hometown in Northern California to the city where I was an exchange student before: Lund, Sweden. The decision on which bike to bring was kind of obvious. I sold of my fixed gear, left my mountain bike to my brother (the thing got a random flat right before I left, so it’ll stay in the garage until I return, save for a miracle), and packed up the Long Haul Tarcker. I didn’t bother pulling the cranks at the advice of both frankstoneline and the LBS. Big mistake. When I got off the plane the box was scraped along the ground to reveal a distinctly metal sound. My chainring had been scraped and bent. There was no saving it.

Settling in here didn’t leave having a bike as my first priority, but regardless I told dumpsterlife about the situation and he sent me a 46t sram chainring he got off eurojosh. He claimed the BCD was 110, but it was 130. The pain of this realization was offset by the giant wok of quinoa I came home to at my old host family’s house:

[size=85]Note the conventional tomatoes: they taste like ice with some tomato sauce mixed in.[/size]

Once I got over that, I ordered the cheapest one I could find along with some krylions from wiggle.co.uk. Turns out they didn’t have it in stock, so while my tires came but the chainring remained in transit. Today I finally recieved the chainring, put it on, and rode for the first time since leaving.