Bicycle Messenger Rollcall

Who works on the street? Where are you working? For who? How long have you been doing it?

I’ve been working for Courrier Rapide in Montreal since September 2005.

I started last year around this time, so I’ve been at it a year.

I’ve worked for Lasership(Lasershit), and Cyclehawk. Currently I am not doing fulltime work. I quit where I was at last (Lasershit) because of dispatcher problems and a couple other bullshit actions on their part.

I just happened to quit at the wrong time. Summer is damn slow here and companies don’t start hiring until September or so. So currently I’ve been helping out a friend here and there who has his own clients. Just not enough work to have me out everyday and all day.

The economy here is really putting a hole in the courier business. Now it’s pretty common to see a few of us on standby for upwards of 45 minutes. Pretty shitty, seeing as though nothing in this city i getting cheaper.

anyone else?

I work for a property management company making deliveries to buildings and lists of required maintainance.
I’m not tecnically a courier, but I do ride my bike around all day for work.
I get payed by the hour.

i know a guy who used to know a guy who’s brother used to mess in the 90’s

[quote=“JACQUES”]Who works on the street? Where are you working? For who? How long have you been doing it?

I’ve been working for Courrier Rapide in Montreal since September 2005.[/quote]

What is the pay like for a messenger up there?

all of my messenger friends make good money but spend a good portion of it on their higher nutritional needs (more food). also, they’re always tired and smelly.

holler!

All of the couriers I knew in boston spent their money on loads of drugs.

I was unaware of this but apparently 5 PB&Js and a line of coke is all a courier needs to ride for the day.

[quote=“Rusty Piton”]I work for a property management company making deliveries to buildings and lists of required maintainance.