Hitch racks

Looking to get into that tray hitch rack life.

I’m thinking Kuat Transfer (1-1/4")

Anyone have strong feelings about these things?

I don’t know if it’s MUSA Stockholm Syndrome, but I know a lot of people who swear by the 1UP racks. I’ve never owned a vehicle with a hitch, so I have no extensive personal experience to offer.

I am and always have been a fan of the classic Thule T2. Doesn’t fit fat bikes though it does fit a weehoo trailer.

1Up works great and folds up nicely for storage when it’s not on the car.

That’s one thing I’m missing out on with the T2. It takes up so much real-estate on the garage floor I usually just leave it on the van 24-7 unless I’m driving to the city or something.

The 1ups look cool with like a truck or 4runner or something, but the erecter set aesthetic would look a little weird on the Fit.

i dont know anyone who uses that kuat. everyone i know has the nicer kuat.
i’ve been super happy with my yakima hold up. real easy to get bikes in and out of. folds up easily. i dont take it on and off the car though, as that requires takign out a huge long bolt and it’s not worth my time. but on my car it tilts down enough that i can open the hatch with bikes on it (while tilted), or without bikes on it by folding it down. this wouldn’t work well for someone putting like groceries in the back. i just never use my trunk space since i have no kids to put in the back seat.

A couple friends have nicer kuats and they’re great, no experience with any other hitch mount racks though.

Folding out of the way to open the hatch is essential imo