I want to race bmx next year...

anyone here race ? or raced?

I used to dirtjump, and race motocross… So I hope that my balance is still there and the jumping should come back somewhat quickly…

any tips on bikes to look at online? I’m 6’2"…

I raced for many years but dont keep up with bmx bikes at all now.

21" tt would fit you alright.

Practice your gates a few times before you show up to race.

Cruiser.

raced bmx for years. sometimes i want to get back on the track but i’m too lazy to put brakes on.

i’d get a steel frame over aluminum. it would last longer and you could ride street/trails without having to worry about breaking it. plus modern street/trails bikes are as light or lighter than most race bikes up until about 2004.

I just bought a Felt Sector 24", I’m a total noob as far as BMX goes so I don’t really have any constructive input. See you in “BMX racing season 2009” thread?

see ya there!

is the big debate 24" or not? I always remember making fun of them, but I was 13 and made fun of everything…

i wish i lived close enough to a track to get in on bmx racing season 2009.

see ya there!

is the big debate 24" or not? I always remember making fun of them, but I was 13 and made fun of everything…[/quote]

24" is for the old guys who can’t cut it. do you want to be a quitter before you start?

What if yer already an old guy before you start?

see ya there!

is the big debate 24" or not? I always remember making fun of them, but I was 13 and made fun of everything…[/quote]

Yeah, I remember reading about 24" bikes in BMX PLUS! back in the day and being outraged. Then there was some douche who was experimenting with a three speed internal hub and it made me vomit all over. It was all so… impure.

see ya there!

Yeah, I remember reading about 24" bikes in BMX PLUS! back in the day and being outraged. Then there was some douche who was experimenting with a three speed internal hub and it made me vomit all over. It was all so… impure.[/quote]