What do you remember about the party foul scene when you started?

I started riding fixed in the summer of 2006. Things I remember:
-Brooks saddles were a trend. I remember actually seeing a lot of them on track bikes.
-Top tube pads were not yet taboo. Seeing them around town and on the interwebz was more of the norm than the exception.
-Colored Deep V’s, at least in Portland, were not yet played out.
-The NJS thing was still going strong/not quite yet at it’s peak/downfall. Stratton was selling his NJS frames off his Myspace page and was the main source IIRC. You could still get frames in the $400 range without that much effort.
-Seems like there was more of a “steel is real”/dislike of aluminum then compared to how it is now. Same with threaded vs. threadless.
-Saddle to bar drop being 1 ft. was not at all frowned upon by the majority of interweb commentators.
-The whole tricks scene was barely a blip on the radar. It seemed like just a few people doing it in San Francisco.
-Searching “fixed gear” on youtube mostly just brought up this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R5mxMOGLiRw), this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H63FivObTLM), the MASH trailer and some Lucas Brunelle videos.
-Alleycats in Portland actually consisted of the majority of racers being messengers. Throwing an alleycat as a non-messenger was near taboo. Not so anymore.
-BSNYC did not exist. Trackosaurusrex did. Dutret was in his prime.
-John Prolly did not ride.

So, when did you start and what do you remember about it?