Early 90s Cannondale--thoughts?

So I’ve been road bike-less for the past couple of years and thanks to a triathlon I’m doing on Saturday I’ve been borrowing my uncle’s road bike for the past two months. Needless to say, I’m kind of addicted to it (something about being able to ride up and down the Blue Ridge Parkway on a regular basis). And thanks to a sweet rent situation I finally have enough moolah to buy another bike.

Right now I have the option to get an early 90s Cannondale (1992 is the best guess I have), but most of the reviews I read after a quick Google search said it was a great bike for shorter rides, but not for longer ones. I have a carbon fork and seat post, and I’m going to check to see if they fit which would help with shock absorption and all that jazz, but does anyone have any thoughts on the frame? Good, bad, meh?

And what would you pay for it? The guy who’s selling it is being waaaay overly sentimental about it (it was his brother’s) and asking $295 or something like that for the frame + original parts. I know that’s too much (especially since I’ll be building it up with my own parts from my deceased road bike), but if I decide to go for it, what would you offer?

$295 for a cannondale track?

buy it now

[quote=klondikebear]$295 for a cannondale track?

buy it now[/quote]

not a track, from what i can tell…

anyway, people seem to be all about old-ass cannondales. i don’t get the hype at all.

then again, saying it’s a “cannondale road bike” is not helpful, cuz lots of different road bikes.

Early 90’s Cannondale = yes

triathalon
:frowning:
banable offense

$300 for a frame and some parts?

No.

I’d pay $150. I got my SR900 with DA for $160, but it had no bars or saddle and needed a good deep cleaning.

is this a good thread for me to ask what the hell the appeal of these frames is?

I have the same question. I’ve never ridden one though.

is this a good thread for me to ask what the hell the appeal of these frames is?[/quote]