Folding Bikes because i'm not good at the clever names

I made an arbitrary rule in the Sundeal thread that that thread is specifically for non-folders and now I want to talk about folders and apparently we haven’t done that on nu-tarck yet.

okay foldering bicycles, why cant i shake this love

i once owned a Dahon Speed TR, which will always be the nerdiest bike I ever owned. dual racks, dyno hub front, 3-speed planetary gear SRAM hub + 8 speed cassette. seat tube doubled as a pump. it was like 45# and was liquidated for nothing when i needed to pay medical bills in 2014. very sad. it was so fucking heavy but boy, what a treat.

anywayz, now that i suddenly don’t have a small wheel bike I can’t stop thinking about going back to the folding game. the experience with the Dahon has me pretty concerned about weight over everything but also general folded footprint, which the Dahon had a relatively large one. for this reason, I think I’ve fallen for Brompton.

now, there are a lot of options with these little fuckers, but I’m unsure where to start. Honestly, I’m feeling an attraction to the bottom model, the B75. besides titanium v steel, the frames are all the same, right? it seems like going cheap model with the intention of upgrading the drivetrain to something more useful than the max 6 speeds Brompton offers might be the ticket (11 speed alfine?)

What’s the deal with the bags? the block mount seems cool, is there an aftermarket for that? can I fit this thing in carry-on luggage? Handlebar thoughts?

the closest Brompton shops opens in 20 minutes, I guess I should head over there.

1 Like

I am always keeping my eyes open for a 20-24" Klapprad over here. There seem to be many generics of the same basic style and when I see them locked up or getting pedalled around I imagine it as my city bike. This one is from the DDR

2 Likes

Ryan, you should go see Ezra at Green Machine and get a dang Bike Friday!