Pedals for regular shoes

So I’m tired of riding MKS Sylvans, been using them for years on various bikes and they’ve always been uncomfortable. I usually wear Keds type sneakers which are very thin soled. I was just sent a NOS set of purple bear trap pedals, which I’ve never used before. Would these be better or worse with the kinds of sneakers I wear? I also have some Shimano BMX pedals I might try out. Suggestions?

if those shimano pedals are the original 80s ones like this (but in way better condition) you could probably make some money on ebay.

i doubted the reload/holdfast/etc straps X bmx pedal collabo for a long time but they’re so comfortable. i don’t know if i could go back to clip/straps/svans

Not to get all Petersen-y here, but if you’re just out riding around in normal shoes (and on a freewheel bike), nothing beats standard BMX platforms. I’ve been using silver Wellgo pedals for years, and I do my best to talk any customer I can out of using clipless or cheap, plastic clips and straps on their hybrid or city bikes.

i thought GR9’s were the rage for regular shoes

using foot retention?
i love my gr-9s
i had mks sylvans on the road bike and they hurt liek a bitch with regular shoes

GR-9’s aren’t all that great. They are good for providing grip without digging into your shoes, but not good for larger feet. And the flip tab breaks off if you come within 5’ of a curb.

BMX pedals are great if you never go uphill but I’d prefer shitty plastic toe clips over no foot retention any day around here.

The best pedals I’ve found were really thin metal cage’d mtb pedals. Similar to these but a little thinner from top to bottom:

I used metal toe clips and a homemade strap doubler to run two nylon straps.

I love me some shitty plastic toe clips.
I also love BMX pedals.